Today I was at Target (you're all shocked, right?) and there was this mom walking around with her six month old twins in their double stroller. They were so quiet and she seemed to really have it all together. She was showered, dressed, her hair was done, makeup on, and totally calm. I hadn't yet showered, was wearing my yoga pants and t-shirt, hair in a pony tail and my kids are in school all day!!! In my defense, I had just printed and dropped off fliers at school, responded to a million PTA emails, and was just grabbing stuff for dinner that would go in the crockpot since we have gymnastics after school today. I couldn't help but think that if that is me next year I will NOT in any way be that mom. Just from what I know about carting 2 young children to Target in the past, I will be barely functional and carrying around a Starbucks cup, possibly still in my yoga pants from the day before that I fell asleep in. I am ok with being that mom. I will wear my sweats with my hair in a pony tail because my stuff comes last. If I get everything done for PTA, get the house cleaned, do laundry, make beds, workout, go to the store, and do any errands that need to be done then I shower and get myself around. Sometimes it's 8PM, and I can be ok with that. It always gets done at some point. My point here is that I have come to accept that *if* this works and *if* I get pregnant with twins, I'm all set. I no longer have that need to keep up appearances because I know our family is happy and me showering and looking fabulous at 9AM is just not what is most important.
No comments:
Post a Comment