This morning I had my first round of labs and it totaled 6 vials. I was smart and dank lots of water the last couple of days so it wasn't too bad. I did have to be fasting for this round though so I was feeling kind of lightheaded by the time I got out of there at almost 11. They also did my baseline ultrasound and I have no cysts and just 1 polyp in my uterus that measured 8mm. It will most likely need to be removed, but it sounds like they will most likely do it when I have my HSG in a few weeks. Really, after having that damn biopsy I think I can handle this. I was shocked that he didn't find any cysts on my ovaries because I had tons of them 8 years ago. They have apparently all dissolved since my hormone levels have evened out from losing weight. I have to go back to my OB/GYN on Thursday, and back to Dr. G next Monday so they can take even more blood from me to check my progesterone. He told me this morning he hopes to be done with me by Halloween. I'm not sure that's the timeline we were thinking, but I guess we will see. We have a cruise in mid-November that we have to work around. First of all, I don't know if I want to be pregnant on a cruise ship. Second, OMG this costs a small fortune and that gives us like 60 days to come up with the cash. Insurance won't cover anything IVF related, including the meds. Just the medicines alone can total $4000 and they have to be in hand before you can commit to a cycle. While I was waiting this morning I was listening to a lady (who was completely hormonal and batshit crazy) talk to the receptionist and she was writing her checks for anesthesia, retrieval fee, and transfer fee. I honestly wanted to hyperventilate for her. My God that's a lot of money. Then I realized I will be writing those checks soon. I think they break it up in to different fees so the checks are smaller and make you feel less bad about it. The other thing I heard her say was that they were not freezing any embryos. I know Dr. G has probably talked to her about it and I know she *thinks* she knows that she is only going to do this once, but it's really stupid to not freeze them. I know it's $900 and I know that the process sucks and everybody wants to get pregnant on the first try, but that's not reality. What if she doesn't get pregnant? What if she does get pregnant, but miscarries? Then she has to start over with another fresh cycle (which costs more than twice as much) and put her body through more than she has to. She didn't seem to grasp the concept of it. The receptionist kept telling her that you can only make that choice before your retrieval and there's no going back. I could tell she didn't want to say "what if it doesn't work?" but this woman seriously needed that dose of reality. She also didn't seem to grasp the concept that the embryos are destroyed if not used. I heard both the nurse and receptionist explain to her that the embryos can either be frozen and destroyed at a later date (you can store them for many years) or they would be destroyed at the time of transfer if they chose not to freeze them. You always freeze the damn embryos lady! It's like an insurance policy. If you're already spending $15,000 trying to get pregnant, why would you skimp on the $900 insurance policy?? Women like her make me realize why these doctors explain every stupid detail to you even if you already know what you're doing. It has to be frustrating to deal with that level of stupid all the time.
On a side note, I FINALLY got to see the Kenny Invitation Only concert I went to and OMG I felt horribly depressed seeing how thin I was at that time! Matt made it so much better when he commented that I "used to be totally badass" and "almost anorexic." That made me feel really wonderful when I'm about to embark on a pregnancy that my OB has said could cause me to gain AT LEAST 40 lbs if it's twins. I'm still working on the weight loss before getting pregnant and would love to lose another 20 lbs between now and then, but I think it will be a couple of years before I get back to that girl who was totally badass. Maybe breastfeeding twins will help me lose weight! Hahahaha! Nope, I'm not that delusional. Maybe I will be too tired and busy to eat though. Getting 2 babies and losing some weight would be a total win!
No comments:
Post a Comment