Tuesday, November 29, 2011
Just Ramblings
I was at the gym browsing through Netflix on my phone (best thing ever BTW) and ran across a show called "Heavy." It's "Biggest Loser" without competition basically. They have these people come to a secluded facility, feed them 1200 calories a day, and make them workout for 4-5 hours a day. Now I do sometimes workout 4-5 hours a day so I don't see that as totally unrealistic, but I don't eat 1200 calories when I do. I go all the way up to 1800-2000 calories on those days. I still have more than 1000 calorie deficit on those days. I would be eating my own arm if I ate that little and did that much. But anyways, on some episodes they send the contestants home after 30 days with personal trainers and any help they might need. Other episodes they keep them there for 6 months. These people make amazing transformations. I saw a man lose 180 lbs in 6 months on the episode I watched tonight. I kept thinking to myself that of course I would have amazing results if I did it that way, but I would gain every ounce of it back because they deprive you of all foods that you love. There is no moderation. They eat fish, chicken, and vegetables. That's all I have ever seen them serve. I would want to throw up after 6 months of that. This week I made one of my favorite recipes EVER. It's a mexican dish that my sister used to make and when I left home she gave me the recipe and I've tweaked it some, but it's nowhere in the realm of what someone would consider a healthy recipe. When I make it now I add red and yellow peppers and lots of onions to the beef filling. It bulks it up with less calories. I drain every bit of grease off of the already low-fat beef. I blot it with paper towels and everything. It's about 500 calories per serving and I used to be able to eat 2-3 for dinner and not think twice about it. That was BEFORE making the healthy changes to it so I'm sure it was somewhere around 750 per serving before. The point is, I still make these recipes that I love! I find ways to make them more healthy and I keep in mind that it's still not a low calorie food at 500 calories so I adjust my other meals and workouts accordingly. I also only eat 1 obviously. And I'm completely full with one! I don't know how I ever ate 3! I'm thinking of adding rice next time. My sister used to make hers with spanish rice inside of them but I've never actually done that. Oh and this is one of the very few beef recipes I eat. I still can't stomach meat very well and I don't force it. I eat chicken if it's in something or pork chops with brown rice and Asian sauce. If steak is cooked the way I like it, I'll eat it, but maybe a couple times a year. Hmmm... I don't eat much red meat, I don't drink pop, I don't drink alcohol, I hate fish, blueberries, raspberries, asparagus, and anything with soy in it. Yep. I pretty much survive on salads and coffee. Oh and Eggbeaters. I can't eat real eggs for the life of me, but I can handle Eggbeaters with a little fat free cheese and salsa. The one place that has burgers that I absolutely LOVE and is really the only place on Earth that I get a burger is Skinny Legs. Mmmmmm.... 6 more months and I will have a Skinny Legs burger in hand with the company of a million mosquitos and the people I love. And that's why I have put in around 3 hours of workouts today. That, and I am trying to master hooping in the opposite direction and I pick up the hoop every chance I get to practice. I will get it. I swear.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment