Friday, December 2, 2011

Is That a Taquito…

You know what makes me really cranky? Not eating carbs! I'm not going all crazy Atkins or anything, but after a very interesting discussion with a personal trainer about why the weight is coming off so slowly, I'm trying something that I know works well for my body. I also know it makes me very irritable and cranky for about a week. And I am eating carbs, but I'm eating them at times that make sense for my body.

Back when I did Atkins for a while, I dropped weight very quickly. And any time I have taken out a large portion of carbs from my diet I tend to lose more, but it sucks for a while. I just finished day 2 and I don't feel horrible, but I am most definitely feeling it. It's like a drug addict going through withdraw. We have all gotten used to this diet based on carbs, and not just carbs like fruit and whole grains, but refined sugars and crap. Our bodies aren't meant to process these things and in some of us (I have PCOS and slight insulin resistance because of it) we really can't process them correctly. I don't believe in eliminating anything from your diet completely. I think that sets you up for failure. I do however believe that listening to your body and taking cues on what you should eat and when you should eat it will only be to your benefit.

So here's what I'm doing…
*I usually get up and make coffee ASAP in the morning. But I gave up creamer and instead use skim milk and sugar-free caramel coffee syrup. It's the best I can do at 6:30.
*I have oatmeal as soon as I send Matt and Madi out the door.
*I workout from around 8:40-10:30.
*Drink a protein shake (found one with 40 grams of protein and no carbs!) and a add a scoop of this stuff that is supposed to help in rebuilding muscle. I can say the squats don't hurt and my arms aren't dying from pushing harder weights the last few days so I'm sold on it so far.
*I do homework and have lunch around 1:30. Today I had tomato soup and cottage cheese with Agave and was really full. I could have easily added a slice of bread or a salad but I just didn't want it.
This is where it starts to suck….
*No carbs after lunch. I think the max to consume after lunch is like 10. This allows for a little salad dressing or condiment.
*Early dinner at around 5:30 and I'm done for the day. I'm not a night eater at all. Tonight I had chicken breast with FF shredded cheese, a little honey mustard, and a ton of steamed green beans. It was actually really good and really filling.
*You can eat as much broccoli, green beans, cucumber, celery, green peppers, and such as you want. And hummus is ok! Just not late in the day. I can do a handful of almonds (like 8-10) and some celery at any point if I get hungry.

The point is to get those carbs in before a workout and teach your body to burn carbs. When you eat protein before a workout it teaches your body to burn protein, but if you eat carbs then it will burn those first and will keep burning carbs and fat for the day instead of protein. There are times when your body needs carbs. Eating things like oatmeal, fruits, honey, agave and such in the mornings are natural sources of carbs. I can also eat whole grain bread with eggs or something too. The point is to have those carbs before you workout and lessen them throughout the day.

I won't lie. I told Matt if he got a taquito at QT when we stopped for iced tea that I might possibly murder him and remove it from his stomach. I was mostly joking. Kind of…

Even though I've had my Bodybugg for quite a while, I just got my digital display today. I can't wait to try out my new toy! I've been having to just wait until the end of the day and plug it in to see what I've burned. Not anymore! Instant readings!

No comments:

Post a Comment