Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Answers!

It sounds like we finally have an answer for the repeated miscarriages! The only problem is, we've had this answer for MONTHS and my current Dr. just wasn't treating it. WTF. After a trip to my OB/GYN yesterday (and OMG I seriously love this man…he could be my brother we are so much alike) he fought with their office to get my records after I told him everything that was going on and he told me that it's pretty obvious that my thyroid is the big red flag. He may have called Dr. G some very ugly names, but the repeated term was "that idiot." After lots of time in his office, several phone calls, and lots of colorful language, we now have an appointment with a new doctor for July 16th. This isn't going to be a quick process at all and it's going to be some trial and error, but he thinks our issue is totally fixable with the right treatment and they're willing to help us figure it all out. The next 6 months will be spent trying some medications, diet changes (Ugh.. I hate giving up gluten and sugar), and trying some vitamins/minerals to bring down my anti-thyroid antibodies and leveling out my T3 and T4 levels. This will all be done in correlation with my PCP so I see her next week to get another update on where my levels are right now.

This was all totally unexpected. I just went in yesterday to have my pap test ran again (and I got scheduled for another lovely chance to get my cervix snipped in October) and I was just venting to him about my frustrations with the whole process. He knows me well enough to know that I'm not a difficult patient and I'm also not an idiot. I was telling him how frustrated I was that we didn't really know what else to do besides walk away and start the adoption process. He said I shouldn't have to be making these choices because my REI (Dr. G) should be telling me what the best course of action is and he should be presenting me all the options and treatment plans. He also should be treating me for the obvious problem I have that increases my chance of miscarriage! I didn't expect to spend my whole day talking to him and figuring out a plan. I didn't expect to be given this second chance. I didn't expect him to hug me and tell me that he will help me in whatever way he can to help me get the treatment I need. He has even offered to treat my thyroid issue himself if nobody else will and then I could do a frozen cycle and not worry about dealing with an REI to deal with the underlying issue. I don't think that will be an issue though because he called both my PCP and the new REI and it seems everyone is in agreement. I don't know if I even want to know what he said to Dr. G's office because I know he was totally pissed off at them after he got off the phone with them. It's unbelievably wonderful to have a doctor willing to fight for you and genuinely care. He is not just a good doctor, but also a good person. I was ready to walk away from this process, and he's the one who is pushing me and saying 'not yet.' He also encouraged me to run that half marathon before doing another cycle. He gets why I need that right now.

So I guess we just keep on keeping on and I'm excited for new eyes and a new opinion to take a look at things. The next 6 months could be interesting.

And it is so amazing that while I've been writing this my 7 year old son is watching YouTube videos about how to draw things and is drawing them! He just did a dinosaur drawing tutorial and it's so good to see him doing something productive this summer! There certainly isn't much else to do since our house is pretty much all boxed up...

No comments:

Post a Comment