Today I ordered myself a Fitbit Zip. I've had my Bodybugg forever, but I just don't love it. It's big, bulky, and I feel like everyone notices it. It's also a pain to connect it to my computer and upload the results every day. Yes it's accurate and works wonderfully, but it's just not for me anymore. Matt mentioned this morning that there was a new Fitbit announced so as soon as he left for work I researched it myself. I decided to get their $60 version because it does exactly what I want it to do and nothing more. It uploads into Lose It via Bluetooth so I don't have to connect it, plus it runs on a watch battery so I don't have to charge it. It counts steps and calories burned and sends them to Lose It (the app I use to track food) without much effort for me. It just connects on your pants, bra, shirt, or wherever else you want to put it so it's convenient and can be hidden easily.

With an upcoming pregnancy I want to watch my weight pretty carefully and stay active. I will say that with my current IVF cycle I have gained 10 lbs. 10 freaking pounds. Yes, I've had some emotional eating, a birthday, and certainly didn't expect to lose anything for sure. I was hoping to maintain. For the most part I eat well and I've been walking (all I'm really supposed to do for the foreseeable future) a lot so I was hoping to avoid the awful weight gain. I've always gained about 5 lbs on birth control pills so there was no surprise when I put on 5 pounds within days of starting those, but then the Lupron did the same thing! Next week I start Menopur and Gonal-F and I already know I'll put on a good 10 lbs of water retention in the next few weeks from developing eggs, egg retrieval, and then transfer. It's pretty typical to see a weight gain with all of that simply because you have a ton of fluid built up. I'd heard the horror stories of gaining 20+ pounds during a cycle, but I really thought I could keep it in check. Guess it's not in my control as much as I thought. All I can say is that if this cycle doesn't work I will be dieting hardcore for a while before doing it again! Luckily, I lost a lot with Madison (20+ pounds) and didn't gain anything other than water retention with Jack (I weighed less walking out of the hospital than I did when I got pregnant by about 10 pounds), so I'm not terribly worried about gaining a ton during pregnancy. All I want is a healthy baby (or babies) so I can deal with everything else in this process.
By the way, shots are going well. Just some bruising, hot flashes, and headaches. It's not terrible because I do them about an hour before bed so I sleep through a lot of it. I'm just kind of waiting for the next step at this point. The next step is a big one and I'm so ready!
No comments:
Post a Comment