Last week was spring break for the kids and that meant very little time for workouts for me. I have to figure out a schedule for summer because last week just did not work for me. Jack was in camp from 9-12 each day and we had grandmas here for a few days here and there as well. It just felt like we didn't have a schedule and I was trying to cram everything into those 3 hours when Jack wasn't home. I can't go to the grocery store, do school work, get a workout in, and entertain Madison all within those 3 hours each day. I've been looking at some activities for the kids this summer and trying to figure out how in the world I'm going to do it all. Not having schoolwork will help of course.
The kids are at an age where they want to be entertained constantly. They must be doing something at all times or I start hearing, "I'm bored!" every few minutes. They need routine and schedule and I need them to have a schedule for my own sanity. They get out of school June 1st and we leave for vacation the next week so I have to figure out the end of June, all of July, and maybe a week in August. There are a lot of fun camps and activities around here and I think Madison is going to do a pottery camp with a friend for at least one week.
I found out yesterday that one of my trainers isn't going to be working there anymore. I really do like all of the others, but she was kind of what held all of us girls together. Female kickboxers kind of get a reputation of not being feminine and she would show everyone that you could do both. You can kick ass with the boys during your workout and still stand around after and talk about your kids. I saw her show many girls that tough can be sexy. Just because we put on our gloves and beat on things doesn't mean we aren't girls. It just means we are girls who have confidence and skills.
Now off to the gym to hopefully get some miles in on the treadmill. I'm on spring break this week. Yay!
Tuesday, March 20, 2012
Wednesday, March 7, 2012
Ouch!
I made an attempt to go back to boxing last week. I really and truly did. Unfortunately, the antibiotic I was taking caused me to spend half my time in the bathroom throwing up. I did do an awful lot of sweating while throwing up, but that's not the kind of sweating I prefer to do in a gym. I ended up leaving a bit early (actually I was told to get my ass out of there and come back when I felt better…after I was asked 20 times if I was absolutely sure I wasn't pregnant) and didn't even attempt to go back until this week. I finished up the antibiotic, let my stomach settle down, and spent a lot of time on the treadmill and lifting weights. We went to Monster Jam with the kids and ate out numerous times and I still lost weight because I couldn't eat more than a few bites without wanting to vomit. That stuff was horrible, but it was better than the swollen face and infected bite! So, on Monday I went back thinking that I would ease my way back in and take it easy. Apparently, I thought wrong. I had to endure an hour of the trainer also known as Satan during a one-on-one workout. Fan.tas.tic. There was only one other girl there and she was new so I got the pleasure of being beaten on for the whole hour. It had been 2 weeks or so since I had to squat to avoid hits, roundhouse kick, or throw punches meant to knock down a 225 pound person. I.hurt.so.bad. The Ibuprofen bottle and I are good friends right now. Yesterday it just hurt when I would move from standing to sitting or sitting to standing. Last night I couldn't sleep because my muscles were just screaming at me all night long. And you know what? I hauled my ass back in there again this morning. Because I'm badass. My knuckles hurt (but they aren't bleeding because I borrowed some awesome new wraps because I forgot to wash mine and they smelled so incredibly bad), my legs hurt, my abs hurt, my arms hurt, my shoulders hurt, and my feet are calloused because I prefer to go barefoot. I have bruises on my thighs, but they don't hurt. I think it's just because everything else hurts more. I'm beyond exhausted because after all this I had to come home and do hours of homework and I walked on the treadmill. If I sit for very long I feel about 90 years old when I try to get back up so it's easier to just keep moving. But, it's ok! I'm feeling great! I may feel like it, but I no longer look like I got in a fight! I'm not throwing up and I'm eating normally again! My leg doesn't look like it's got a hole in it! I will gladly take my soreness because it means I'm healthy again and putting my body to work doing what it was meant to do. Your body is only as healthy as what you do with it and you only get one chance. I'm going to push mine to the limit and see just what it's capable of. I bought a bracelet yesterday that says, "Dreams become reality one choice at a time" and I think that sums up my philosophy. Your dreams are closer to being accomplished with each good choice you make, and are pushed farther away with every bad choice. That means you don't have to make good choices every time, but your good choices have to outnumber the bad if you want to keep moving forward and accomplish your goals. Otherwise, it's just one step forward and 2 steps back.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)